Final Thoughts on Marriage, Divorce, and Remarriage in the Bible

Today we’ll be looking at the second book that I’ve decided to remove from my collection of seminary/undergraduate books after re-reading it. This book is Marriage, Divorce, and Remarriage in the Bible by Jay E. Adams. You may think that by not keeping this book means that there is some deep disagreement with the conclusions of the book, but that isn’t exactly the case.

Marriage, Divorce, and Remarriage in the BibleAs the title says the book is about marriage, divorce, and remarriage as talked about in the Bible. It is a straightforward title and a straightforward book. The focus of Adams is is largely on the ideas of divorce and remarriage though. He does talk about marriage, but it is only to set the stage in talking about divorce and remarriage.

One may wonder if the reason I’m removing this book from my collection is because I disagree with Adams’ take on divorce and remarriage. Actually, that’s not really the case at all. I found that I did largely agree with the conclusions he lands on. Any disagreement I did have was minor in comparison to his larger points.

So why am I not keeping the book then. There are three main reasons. The first is that I already agreed with most of what he said and there wasn’t much added value in keeping the book. The book is relatively short and to the point. There isn’t much extra to the book other than him giving his thoughts on what the Bible says about certain passages that he uses from the Bible and how they speak to the issues of particularly divorce and remarriage.

Second, the book largely seems targeted towards those who believe that all divorce is sin and remarriage is never an option. This will probably tip you off on the direction that he lands. Since I’m not part of that targeted group, the focus and slant of the book is not one that really warrants me keeping it.

Lastly, the book just kind of turned me off early on (we’re talking like preface/introduction) as just not being a very positive attitude. He just kind of presents himself, intentionally or unintentionally, as being just a bit better than the conservative church who doesn’t take the time to think about divorce and remarriage so they don’t allow any of it and the wicked, liberal culture that has wrought the destruction of marriage. Such an introduction just didn’t sit well with me and partly made me want to close the book right there and move on. I continued on though and found that I surprisingly agreed with a large number of his conclusions.

Despite my agreement, I just found that I didn’t really enjoy this book all that much. I already held many of the same beliefs and the method of presentation just wasn’t all that interesting. It’s not a bad book in terms of conclusions, so if you want a nice small book on marriage, it’s not the worst one out there, but I’m sure there are better ones that have been released in the thirty four years since this book has been released.

Leave a Reply

