Final Thoughts on Sharing Your Faith with a Muslim

Today’s post marks a couple of rather unimportant milestones. The first is that the book I’ll be looking at today is the first book from undergraduate and graduate school that I’ve reread and decided to get rid of. The second is that this is the 200th post of this little blog.

Sharing Your Faith with a MuslimThe book that I will be getting rid of in some fashion is Sharing Your Faith with a Muslim by Abdiyah Akbar Abdul-Haqq. Let’s start off by saying that this wasn’t a bad book. My reason for getting rid of it is more that I just don’t see me using it very much.

To begin with, while the title may seem like a practical guide for Christians to share their faith with Muslims it is not that. This is more of a theological critique rooted in the idea that the Koran itself doesn’t speak negatively of the Old and New Testaments and that the Koran actually implores people to follow what is stated in them. Off of this base he then goes on to compare and contrast Islam and Christianity on a number of different topics and gives favor to the Christian viewpoint.

To be honest I’m not sure what I think about the way he sets up his argument. While I kind of understand what he’s attempting to do, I wonder how effective it would be. It seems to be an argument that tries to look like it is respecting what the Koran says, but at the same time doesn’t really because it says to follow the Bible as well and this trumps what the Koran says.

This leads to the other problem I have with the book. Even if the arguments are solid and effective. It doesn’t feel like his presentation is a very natural way to share one’s faith. I feel like I’d need to be reading out of the book to present the arguments he does and I’m pretty sure that wouldn’t be too effective.

In addition to all of the above it was just kind of a dense read. This is good because he includes numerous quotes from the Bible, the Koran, and various scholars, but it also makes for a difficult read if you’re not too well versed in Islam.

Overall for me, I just didn’t enjoy the book enough or see enough use for it in the near future for me to keep it. It just appeared too dense and too much of a theological critique to be all that useful for me. If this is what you’re looking or hoping for you may enjoy it more, but I just didn’t.

 

Leave a Reply

