Wandering of the Week 9/22/13

Ever have a week that was exhausting even though you don’t feel like you really did much? This was one of those weeks for us. I’m not entirely sure why. I mean sure we have two young kids and I’m pretty sure any more than one young one gets you exhausted pretty well, even only one can easily enough. Sure Anastasia basically swore off any naps a couple days this week, which made for a cranky little girl, and sadly a cranky daddy at times too. Having no time to yourself the past couple weeks has taken a little getting used to.

Beyond that I’m not sure. The whole family went to visit my Grandmother on Friday, and the kids did pretty well with that. We then had dinner with Kristen’s parents after visiting. Then Saturday we like were totally wiped out. Well at least the kids were. I can’t say that we were in the best of shape either, but how much that was due to tired kids or due to us being tired from Friday is always hard to tell.

In terms of the blog I managed to get out a post that wasn’t a review of something, so I consider that a plus. It felt like it had been awhile. For blogs outside of my own, it seemed like it was a productive week. I’ve got a number of ones that made me think a bit. Since there are a number of them, let’s get started.

Ugly Cabbage Bowl by Leanne Penny

“When we were newly married I was fanatical about tableware, everything had to match and I found plastic cups tacky.

I was snobby about thread counts and towels.

I had a clear vision of how things were supposed to be in a marriage and a family.

My current reality looks nothing that.”

On Being God by Jeff Dunn at Internet Monk

“I was empty. On the outside, I was all that and sugar cookies too. But on the inside I was hollow. I knew my Bible. I could hold my own in theological discussions. I had my daily quiet time and was active in my church (which was one the ‘cool’ churches that pop up like dandelions on a spring lawn here in Tulsa). When I lost my job (because the publishing world did just as I had predicted it would and stopped giving big advances and long contracts to people who had nothing to say and couldn’t say it), I slumped into a deep depression. I was a bottomless pit; there was no foundation for me to stand on. The free fall is not what hurt; it was the sudden stop when I hit bottom that made me realize just how empty I truly was. And I blame it on having a personal relationship with Jesus.”

A Little Judgment Can Kill a Lot of Gospel by Ed Cyzewski

“I used to hear, “Preach the bad news before you preach the good news.” But from what I’ve seen, we need something a bit more like good news, bad news, and good news. And the key to sharing the bad news is avoiding the boundaries that judgment creates.”

In Which I Am Among the Spanish Oaks Again by Sarah Bessey

“That girl received love and friendship and guidance but took them for granted, like they were her right. Yesterday, I arrived in Austin nealry thirteen years later, and I remembered her, standing at the baggage claim 3 in the Austin airport, heading out on the adventure she disdained, and I loved her, the earnest know-it-all fool of her.”

Radically Ordinary by Nate Pyle

“Ordinary isn’t ordinary. Ordinary is beautiful and good and simple and sustainable and, in a world of ‘Look at me,’ radical.”

A Leader’s Hard Conversations by Tim Elmore

“‘Speaking into the life’ of your team, students, children or employees is a learned art. Speaking with authority is an earned right. Both what you learn and earn can increase your influence with them. This is about the role and the soul of a leader.” 

Six Words You Should Hear Today by Rachel Held Evans

For too many Christians, God’s unmerited favor is a one-time gift that applies exclusively to eternal security. In the meantime, God’s favor has to be earned.  It has to be fought for with one flawless performance after another. The Family of God is a competitive, disciplined, performance-based family that runs on the economy of gold stars, rules and shame. God is rendered into the classic nightmare sports parent  whose favor has to be earned, who is always, always, always disappointed in us.”

“Best Day Ever” Joy by Sarah Short

And, yet – here they are. These precious little people who find joy in these smallest of things. Not “Ho-hum” and definitely not “UGH!” – which is the mojo I MUST FIGHT AT EVERY TURN while doing the daily tasks of raising them. Because let’s be real here – a lot of it sucks. Cleaning out the car? A walk when I really want a nap?? Laundering the stinky blue socks?

My DTR (Define the Relationship) with World Vision by Jamie Wright

“Because, here’s the thing; I like you, World Vision. Just not all of you.   …  😐
There are things that I really loved about our time together, and things that, well? I didn’t love. I want to be gentle here, but I also want to be honest, so please know that writing this is giving me pit stainsbecause I care.”

Scandal of the Evangelical Memory, Part 3 of 5 by Geoff Holsclaw at Missio Alliance

“The revivalism practiced by Wesley, Whitefield, and Edwards radicalized the institutional church in both its theology and practice (and ‘radical’ rather than ‘liberal’ is the proper term here because the revivalists were in no way preaching about a deistic God or other such doctrines coming from the English or French Enlightenment which at that time would be properly ‘liberal’).  These leaders committed “to be more vile” in the eye of the church in order to save the lost. This was the First Great Awakening, and was the beginning of the “classical evangelical” consensus that prioritized mission over institution, and practice over doctrine, even while not abandoning the latter.

The American-Christian Confusion: The Tale of Terry Jones and His Magnificent Handlebar Mustache by Ian McLoud at On Pop Theology

“Don’t get me wrong. I’m thankful for the Bill of Rights; I’m grateful to be living in a country where, for the most part, people are allowed to live as they wish inside the bounds of the law. But I don’t like the mindset that often permeates Christian thought in the US, were our first instinct is to define ourselves first as American citizens, rather than holding that our identity comes from Christ. We cling to our rights, but we cling to the wrong rights. And I say we because I have done this, I do this, and I will probably continue to on some level or another. All too often Christians in the US feel like we have to stand up for our rights. That we have to use our rights to force some opinion on others because we can and because it’s what God would want. But what if we’re wrong?”

An Open Letter to My Non Enemies by Jayson D. Bradley

“This would be profound even if it was all Jesus ever said. I have a hard time loving people who I simply find inconvenient, ridiculous, or rude. I find it difficult to pray for the folks I genuinely care about.”

There we go everyone. Hope you enjoy the list. As always, have a good week and feel free to leave any comments.

 

Leave a Reply

