Wanderings of (Last) Week 8/4/13

Well this is coming out super late, but things have been super crazy around here the past week. During the week my wife and I helped with the VBS at our church. It was a pretty good time, but it meant that we were running every night of the week right after my wife got home from work. When we weren’t doing that we were planning and preparing for a weekend with two birthday parties for Ryan who was turning three. Then both Saturday and Sunday were parties with each side of our family. So that pretty much took out the whole weekend and to top it all off both of our kids wound up sick over the course of it all. Needless to say we’ve been running around a lot and there really wasn’t the time to prepare an end of the week review until Tuesday. Oh well. Better late than never right?

This week was also a pretty crazy week on the blogs because of one major CNN article. That would be Rachel Held Evans’ article on why the Millennial generation are leaving the church. The post went viral for reasons I’m not sure I really understand, and from what she’s written I’m not even sure Rachel quite understands the firestorm and popularity of it. I read it pretty much right after it came out and was largely thinking that she’s not saying too much new, but regardless it was popular and as it is with such things people came out in droves to disagree with it or stand beside it. There will be a couple of those responses here, I didn’t go out of my way to find responses to her article, but these are ones from people that I already follow.

So here are the links, as I say every so often, don’t assume I fully agree with any of the posts here. They’re ones that I like for various reasons, sometimes even because I disagree with it, but the article poses an interesting point or question to think about. Also don’t assume that I only put this disclaimer in on weeks I have a questionable post.

Where Do You Experience God? Well, Answer Me by Peter Enns

“I was taught–implicitly and explicitly–that the experience of God is something that…well…it’s good if you can get it, but don’t go looking for it. After all, experience is subjective and potentially misleading. Best to get your theology in order and leave subjective experience to the Charismatics.”

If You Are Not Afraid, You’re Not Human by Chaplin Mike

“I am afraid of life, and I am afraid of life’s end. I am afraid of being alone, and I am afraid of being with people. I am afraid of hatred and I am afraid of love. Truth and beauty frighten me even as I delight in them. I especially fear pain, loss, unbearable sorrow, and death itself.”

Five Fundamental Questions Conservative Evangelicals Must Address by Matthew Lee Anderson

“But my concern is that conservative evangelicals have not yet grappled with the fundamental questions that determine the plausibility of our witness.  With that in mind, here’s my best attempt at five of the most pressing questions facing conservative Christians.”
But my concern is that conservative evangelicals have not yet grappled with the fundamental questions that determine the plausibility of our witness.  With that in mind, here’s my best attempt at five of the most pressing questions facing conservative Christians. – See more at: http://mereorthodoxy.com/five-fundamental-questions-conservative-evangelicals-must-address/#sthash.MyJ031jv.dpuf

4 Reasons Christians Need To Quit Sharing Hoaxes by Jayson Bradley

“But after spending years on Facebook, I’ve seen a trend that’s both interesting and troubling: If I find a hoax in my news feed, chances are it will have been shared by an evangelical Christian.”

Curing My OCD Christianity With Pope Francis by Matt Appling

“And you know what?  Being a scrupulous detective, gathering all the evidence and demanding a verdict didn’t get me any closer to Jesus.  I started to see Jesus most clearly when I realized I couldn’t put him under a microscope and figure it all out.  It was when I relaxed my hands and stopped clutching so tightly every assumption I had about Jesus, and embraced his mystery that He finally began to come into focus.”

The Little Girl’s Tattoo by Jon Acuff

“What I’ve learned over the years is that an experience can’t change that. My relation to God is not a simple little mark. It is not a big tattoo or a little sticker; it is who I am. I cannot completely cover that up or blot it out with failure. The prodigal son tries, he completely messes up his life. But, more importantly, he shows how sometimes the worst marks are the ones we give ourselves. ‘I’m a bad husband. I’m a terrible employee. I’m ugly.'”

Creating Space for the Next Generation by Steve Wiens

“I want to be the kind of person who sees people who on are the verge of growing and becoming, and who moves aside. I want to create space for them, rather than demand it for myself.”

The Lie They Tell About Emma Watson and Me by Lyndsey Graves

“So for me, it comes from everywhere. It comes from media messages so pervasive that I have taken to physically dodging them, and from the slightly-twisted brand of ‘pursuing holiness’ that I’ve adopted: this deep-down belief that I cannot ever be content with myself, that I cannot ever know rest. More specifically, that failure to be and do everything perfectly is failure at all of life. That real people have no weaknesses, need no help, admit no failures. That I’ll try harder tomorrow.”

The Church of Sharknado by Ben Howard

And this was, in some sense, holy. It wasn’t time-honored traditions and incense, nor were there prayers and benedictions, but it was holy in the sense that people who cared for one another gathered together to celebrate their friendship and this kind of act is holy.But even so, this is not church. Not quite.”

Thoughts on Creating Controversy as a Blogger by Shauna Niequist

“When I’ve regretted saying something on the internet, it’s never been about love. I’ve never regretting loving or encouraging or celebrating something. I have often regretted slamming or dismissing or criticizing something, because when I do that online, it’s outside of relationship, outside of shared understanding, outside of context.”

For the Ordinary Days by Lisa-Jo Baker

“It’s all there. Once I blink the tired and temper out of my eyes, it’s all there. The glory of the ordinary day. How each one is unique even when it’s the same. Like these children of mine with their snowflake individual fingerprints or their laughter or how they like their spaghetti.”
It’s all there. Once I blink the tired and temper out of my eyes, it’s all there. The glory of the ordinary day. How each one is unique even when it’s the same. Like these children of mine with their snowflake individual fingerprints or their laughter or how they like their spaghetti. – See more at: http://lisajobaker.com/2013/08/for-the-ordinary-days/#sthash.T1iXpTu4.dpuf
It’s all there. Once I blink the tired and temper out of my eyes, it’s all there. The glory of the ordinary day. How each one is unique even when it’s the same. Like these children of mine with their snowflake individual fingerprints or their laughter or how they like their spaghetti. – See more at: http://lisajobaker.com/2013/08/for-the-ordinary-days/#sthash.T1iXpTu4.dpuf
It’s all there. Once I blink the tired and temper out of my eyes, it’s all there. The glory of the ordinary day. How each one is unique even when it’s the same. Like these children of mine with their snowflake individual fingerprints or their laughter or how they like their spaghetti. – See more at: http://lisajobaker.com/2013/08/for-the-ordinary-days/#sthash.T1iXpTu4.dpuf

Apparently I’m Entitled and I Don’t Care by Caris Adel

“I don’t mind staying in a place where I am constantly wrestling.  But I need someone on the mat with me.

I am leaving evangelicalism because my tensions are not welcome.  What I have to say is not wanted.  I’m left on the mat, alone.  If that makes me spoiled, so be it.”

Another Look: The Day of Salvation? by Chaplin Mike

“American revivalism insists that we pinpoint a date, a time, a moment of decision — “the day of your salvation.” But is the Bible this reductionistic?”

Why Not to Say “What Not to Say”: In Support of Asking Questions by Beth Woolsey

“I don’t know about you, but WHEW! Even though I’ve been all these moms, I can’t keep track of all the things I’m not supposed to say. And I realized these articles have made me afraid. Afraid to engage with my fellow moms. Afraid to take risks in relationships. Afraid to ask questions to find common ground. Afraid I’ll hurt a mama friend even with the best of intentions if I don’t word a question the way she’d like to hear it.”

Speaking Prophetically to the Church or Publicly Criticizing the Church by Jake Meador

“But when you frame it in terms of how the church needs to change to adjust with millennials you are setting up a basically antagonistic relationship between the two parties. You are saying that the institution must change ‘along with’ a generation, which, as I tried to demonstrate recently, is nonsense. Framing the issue as ‘the church vs. millennials’ is a fundamentally problematic way to approach the issue, and so the best thing to do to promote the conversation is to dispute the framing of it and try to refocus the question in a better direction.”

Christians and Education Inequity: An Interview with Nicole Baker Fulgham by Rachel Held Evans (funny how this one probably won’t get near the attention her other post did this week).

This is an interview, so a bit hard to pick a blurb to put here, but a thought-provoking read.

What’s Your Currency {and Why it is Important to Know} by Amy at the Messy Middle

“‘I don’t like to pay, I’m cheap.’ My friend said.

‘No, you don’t like to pay with money. You still pay.’ Charming conversationalist that I am.

OK, people, I’ve a version of the above conversation more than I’d like in the last few months and am done with this idea that paying only involves money.”

Alright, well there we have it. A couple days late, but here it is. As always feel free to comment or anything here. Posts you like, posts you don’t, thoughts on these posts. Life is much slower this week so hopefully everything will be on time and this post will hit on Sunday like normal.

Leave a Reply

