Books of June: Not Much New

Well here we are at the end of another month, and I must admit I haven’t read that much this month. Basically I’ve finished one book, started another (fiction that isn’t a picture book), and I’m slowly working through about three other books as well. I’ve decided that I’m only going to post pictures and links to the book, if the book is new, so if you’re interested in continuity then I’ll refer you to last month’s list of books here.

Of the books that I’ve been in the process of reading, the book I’ve finished was Searching for Home by M. Craig Barnes. Having commented on it the last two lists, I’m not sure I have much more to add to it. It was a good read and one that wound up good for discussion. If the idea or concept of seeking for ones home is something that resonates or your are interested in I’d say to give it a read. It will make you think about how the concept of home relates to our walk with God.

The other books that I’m still wading through are Is it a Lost Cause? by Marva Dawn; Conflict & Community in Corinth by Ben Witherington III; and King’s Cross by Tim Keller. It is not that any of these books are bad, I’ve just not been going through them very fast. With Is it a Lost Cause? it is more that the subject matter is challenging and therefore not easy to read very fast. It also doesn’t help that while I agree with her principles and concepts behind her chapters, I tend to disagree with her practical examples. I guess one could say it isn’t a book I enjoy reading, but one that I find is helpful almost because it challenges me and I disagree with parts of it.

Conflict & Community in Corinth is more of a commentary and well it shouldn’t be too much of a surprise that it is slowing going to read through one of those. Lastly, King’s Cross is a book I’m reading for my small group and only read a chapter a week. So while I’m traversing through them slowing they are all good for various reasons. This all leads to the one new book of the month and that is:

The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams – While I’ve heard of this book for a decent amount of time, what actually got me interested in actually reading it was the movie that came out about 6-7 years ago. I had watched it, heard that the book was better (isn’t it always?) and became interested in reading the book.

I’m not very far in the book, but it is a pretty enjoyable read. The basic premise is that Earth is going to be destroyed in order to make room for a hyperspatial express route. The thing is only one “man” knows this is about to happen, because this “man” Ford Prefect isn’t really a human, but an alien stranded on Earth and researcher for the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. On the day he learns of this planned destruction he tells one of his human friends, Arthur Dent and the two of them survive the destruction by hitchhiking on one of the ships that is demolishing earth. Thus begins a journey throughout the universe.

I’m not sure I have too much more to say at this point. It should be noted though that this is the collection of all five novels by Douglas Adams. Since I’m only a handful of chapters into the first book of five, there is only so much to say. However, I have found the book to be amusing. It doesn’t take long to realize that this book is more than just a piece of fiction and pokes an elbow or two into the ribs of society while at it. So far nothing has seemed to outdated, but I could see that this is an area that maybe won’t fit the best today. We shall see.

So that is what I’ve read and am currently reading. Maybe next month will have more new books. We’ll just have to wait and see.

Leave a Reply

