Why Creation Matters

The debate between creationism and evolution has been going on since before I was even born. One must stop and wonder though, why a debate over such a thing? Where does this make the most impact? For me it winds up being a question of the existence of God. In all honesty even before becoming a Christian, a full-blown evolutionary theory of the beginning of the universe didn’t fully make sense to me. Of course I am not dismissing all aspects of evolution, it seems there are clear examples of what many have called micro-evolution, or minor changes that occur within species of animals. However, a view of evolution that exclaims that there is no room for God or faith of any sort is one I have to reject.

For me creation has been a pretty solid bedrock for me in terms of my faith. If I begin doubting my faith and the validity of what I believe, going back to creation is a way for me to alleviate that doubt. That may seem quite ignorant of me in the age of evolution, but I’ll tell you why I don’t think it is. As I said earlier the idea of how the world began has always been a question about the existence of God. Practically all major religions have a view of how the world came into existence. A number of them had multiple gods creating the world through battle or through reproduction. The monotheistic religions of Judaism, Christianity, and Islam all believe in creation by one god. The Jewish religion stands out for being one of the only monotheistic religions in early times, and even really today considering that Christianity and Islam are connected in one way or another off of Judaism. So the creation story in Genesis strikes a great contrast to other religions by having only one God create the universe. It was about the existence of one God just as much as was about the creation of the universe.

Perhaps I’ve lost some of you, and you’re wondering what does this have to do with evolution? Simply put evolution ultimately asks the same question about God, only without the obviously religious overtones. Standard fare of the scientific community says that the Big Bang was what created the universe as we know it. Now there are those who connect this idea of the Big Bang with the divine, but what of those who deny the existence of God, yet believe in the Big Bang theory? Some may say that the Big Bang theory eliminates the need for God, but to me that is only a surface statement and is not altogether correct. Science proclaims that something can not come from nothing, and thus the Big Bang needed something to start it. Where did that come from? Even if you can answer that question, there is never a final answer to the question, “Well, then where did that come from?” In essence and at its logical conclusion nature/matter itself becomes deity in some odd way. Nature/matter is eternal and without beginning or end. Sure it isn’t personal, but it is always there in some continual cycle of death and rebirth.

So in essence I believe today’s debate still involves the existence of God, and perhaps more particularly which god is believed in. Many would not frame the Big Bang theory and evolution this way, but at the end of the road is there any other way to interpret it without involving a god that is outside the system? I don’t particularly see how. This is why the view of science superseding the need for God, has always rubbed me the wrong way. Science taken to such an extreme only winds up providing an alternative “god” which doesn’t even follow its own rules. This is not to say that science is evil and should be ignored if you’re a person of faith. It is more to say that just as science lacks the ability to prove God, it also lacks the ability to disprove God. When people use it that way, they overstep the bounds of what they can really accomplish, and only wind up setting up their own religion with their own god in the process. I think there is just a lot we don’t know about how the universe and world began no matter if we look at it as people of faith or as scientists, but I’m willing to say that I do believe that God was at the start of it and is still over it, no matter whether it was the traditional six days of creation or some other way.

Leave a Reply

