Wanderings of the Week 7/21/13

Another week in the books. Personally, it was a fairly boring and uneventful week. A meeting to get prepared to help with our churches Vacation Bible School was about the only aberration. Other than that it has pretty much been the daily taking care of kids, groceries, church, and hanging around the house. We’ve mostly been relegated to the house because this week has been rather hot, too hot to really take a 2 year old and a 5 month old outside. I guess that’s summer for you though.

On the national front opinions have been exploding all over the place about the verdict in the George Zimmerman case. It’s been so tempting to add my own two cents and I did mention it in my one post that I had this week, but only briefly and from a bit of a distance. It’s actually been pretty hard to write about other subjects because of the overwhelming amount of content about the verdict. I’m sure it will probably die down as the distance grows, but it’s been pretty steady so far.

Anyhow, that’s pretty much what’s been going on for me this week. Here are some of the articles I found interesting from this past week.

A Humble Suggestion on How to Not Shoot Our Neighbors by Ed Cyzewski

“But that season of service taught me that simply getting to know someone is the fastest and most reliable way to kill the suspicions you may harbor of your neighbors. In fact, you may even grow quite fond of people who may have been the targets of your suspicion.”

5 Life Lessons I Learned From Watching Jesus by Donald Miller

“Many who read this blog believe in Jesus, that He was the Son of God and most of us, hopefully, have a mysterious relationship with Him. But as I read through the gospels, I wonder what practical life lessons we can learn from Christ.”

The Legal and Addictive Stimulant of Fear (or “perfect fear casts out love”) by Rachel Marie Stone

“She said that fear is stimulating and addictive, and that American culture is increasingly addicted to it.”

Turns Out, I Don’t Know the Muffin Man by Beth Woolsey (Some humor, because my wife says I don’t put enough of that on these lists)

“We’ve been singing about the Muffin Man for years. My whole life, really.

Do you know the Muffin Man, the Muffin Man, the Muffin Man?
Do you know the Muffin Man who lives on Dreary Lane?

And I thought I knew the Muffin Man.”

Why Some of the Best Stories are Invisible by Allison Vesterfelt

“
And to be perfectly honest, I’ve always wanted my story to be kind of loud too, to go down in the history books. I’ve dreaded the thought of being too quiet, wanting instead to be worth noticing, to make a splash. But as I think about this story about my mom, and at least a dozen other quietly generous and beautifully simple and seemingly-invisible stories connected to my own, I can’t help but realize that a quiet story is not a bad story.”

If the Zimmerman Trial Teaches Us One Thing, It’s That We Fill in “Truth Gaps” with Fiction by Donald Miller

“This, to me, speaks to our incredible ability to fill in ‘truth gaps’ with what feels like facts, but simply aren’t. The truth is we know very little about what happened, while we feel like we do. The brain, whether we like it or not, categorizes facts into a narrative and once that narrative is subscribed to, which happens very quickly, rejects any facts that don’t support the story we’ve chosen to believe.”

Are You Free to Not Drink? by Brett McCracken (at Mere Orthodoxy)

“What worries me is this question: Are we so embracing our Christian liberty to partake of alcohol that it threatens to become less a ‘liberty’ and more a shackling legalism–something we can’t, or won’t, go without? As my pastor Alan often says, are we as free to abstain from alcohol as we are free to enjoy it?”

Why Do Photographers Fail? by Scott Bourne (I’m not planning to be a pro photographer, but there are wise words here beyond just photography.)

“Theodore Roosevelt once said that comparing your work, your life, or anything else will only steal your joy. Why? Because when you think about your situation, you have all the data on what you lack. All your ugly habits, your lack of knowledge, your lack of skill, your fear, etc. But when you compare against someone or something else you only see the good side of their work. You only see their best side. It’s like always seeing someone when they are youthful, well-kept, wearing their best clothes every day instead of seeing them old and tired by the side of the road, on a hot day, when they are wearing jeans and covered with oil from fixing their car. You have an unrealistic view of the other person, but a realistic view of yourself. Or at least your opinion of a realistic view of yourself.”

Well those of the posts for this week. As usual feel free to add any you’d like or make any other kind of request in the comments (no guarantee on that request being granted though.)

 

Leave a Reply

